Salt Results

Read the Salt paper or download a PostScript or PDF copy

Also download a HOWTO document, describing how to include salt flux data in an oscillation analysis in PostScript or PDF format.

SNO Logo

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE

OBSERVATOIRE DE NEUTRINOS DE SUDBURY / UNIVERSITÉ LAURENTIENNE

Le 7 septembre 2003, 11:45 h EDT

L’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury annonce de nouveaux résultats

In English
SNO Logo

Un ingrédient commun que l’on saupoudre chaque jour sur notre nourriture est le principal élément utilisé dans de nouvelles mesures prises par les scientifiques de l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury (ONS). Dans une communication présentée le dimanche 7 septembre 2003 à TAUP 2003, un congrès scientifique important tenu à Seattle (Washington), de nouveaux résultats confirmeront les mesures originales de l’ONS annoncées en 2001 et 2002. Ces mesures avaient résolu le « problème des neutrinos solaires »; les nouvelles établissent les propriétés des neutrinos responsables de leur mutation pendant leur voyage entre le Soleil et la Terre. Le professeur Art MacDonald, de l’Université Queen’s et directeur des deux premières phases du projet de l’ONS, explique que « nous sommes arrivés au stade des mesures précises. Celles-ci sont essentielles pour définir la nouvelle théorie des particules élémentaires requise pour expliquer les masses limitées des neutrinos et leur capacité de changer de type. Certaines des théories les plus simples proposées ont déjà été éliminées ».

Pour effectuer les nouvelles mesures, les collaborateurs de l’ONS ont ajouté deux tonnes de sel de table hautement purifié (NaCl) aux 1 000 tonnes d’eau lourde contenues dans le cœur du détecteur situé à deux kilomètres sous terre, dans la mine Creighton de l’Inco près de Sudbury (Canada). Il est établi que les deux tiers des neutrinos électroniques issus des réactions nucléaires dans le noyau du Soleil changent du type muon au type tau avant d'arriver sur Terre. « Ces nouveaux résultats solides sont obtenus avec un ‘grain de sel’ qui offre une sensibilité trois fois meilleure aux neutrinos muon et tau » précise Tony Noble, directeur de l’Institut de l’ONS qui administre l’initiative au nom d’une collaboration internationale faisant appel à 130 scientifiques provenant de 15 organismes du Canada, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni.

Les constatations effectuées ces dernières années, c’est-à-dire que les neutrinos changent de type et par conséquent qu’ils ont une masse, ont suscité un grand intérêt dans la communauté scientifique. Ces nouveaux résultats obligent à modifier les théories les plus fondamentales sur les particules élémentaires et laissent peu de doute sur le fait que nos théories sur la génération d’énergie solaire sont très exactes. De nouvelles expériences visant à obtenir de nouveaux renseignements sur les propriétés des neutrinos et sur l’origine de la matière noire dans l’Univers sont en cours de conception. Elles incluent des projets qui pourraient se dérouler dans le nouveau SNOLAB, en construction près du site souterrain de l’ONS. Ces mesures pourraient apporter des éclaircissements sur des questions fondamentales comme celle de savoir pourquoi notre Univers est composé de matière plutôt que d’anti-matière. Les réponses à ces questions exigent d'approfondir la compréhension de la théorie des particules élémentaires et la réflexion sur l’évolution de l’Univers.

Afin d'examiner ces questions, l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury s’apprête à entreprendre la troisième phase expérimentale avec un nouveau degré de sensibilité. Le professeur Hamish Robertson, de l’University of Washington, à Seattle, porte-parole adjoint pour les États-Unis et directeur par intérim de l’ONS pour cette phase de transition, a déclaré que « nous avons édifié un demi-kilomètre de détecteurs ultra-propres qui seront immergés dans l’eau lourde après que nous aurons retiré le sel en septembre. Ces détecteurs sont des instruments précis qui nous apporteront d'autres renseignements sur les propriétés des neutrinos ».

Pour sa part, Nick Jelley de l’Oxford University, en Angleterre, et porte parole pour le Royaume-Uni de la Collaboration de l’ONS, a ajouté que « à mesure que accroissons la sensibilité, nous enrichissons nos connaissances sur les neutrinos et sur leur place dans l’univers. Ces mesures inédites avec notre degré de sensibilité expérimental sont passionnantes. »

Les nouveaux résultats de l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury (ONS) ont été soumis pour publication et sont affichés à http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/ . Le site Web du congrès TAUP 2003 est http://int.phys.washington.edu/taup2003/ .

Article d'information / observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury

L'Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury (ONS) est un télescope de neutrinos unique. Cette installation, d'une grandeur équivalente à un édifice de dix étages, a été construite à plus de deux kilomètres sous terre, dans la mine Creighton de l'Inco, près de Sudbury, en Ontario. Ses opérations sont assurées par une équipe de quelque 100 scientifiques du Canada, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni. Par son emploi d'eau lourde, le détecteur de l'ONS offre de nouveaux moyens de mesurer les particules émises par le Soleil et d'autres objets astrophysiques, et d'en évaluer leurs propriétés.

Pendant de nombreuses années, les théories de génération d'énergie solaire semblaient indiquer que le nombre de neutrinos solaires mesurés par les autres détecteurs souterrains était moins élevé qu'il devait l'être. Les scientifiques avaient donc avancé l'idée que leur connaissance du Soleil était insuffisante ou que les neutrinos, en partant du centre du Soleil, changent d'une forme à une autre lors de leur parcours vers la Terre.

Le détecteur de l'ONS a la capacité de déterminer si les neutrinos solaires changent de forme lors de leur parcours vers la Terre. Il fournit des réponses en ce qui a trait aux propriétés des neutrinos et la génération de l’énergie solaire.

Le détecteur de l'ONS est composé de 1 000 tonnes d'eau lourde ultra-pure, renfermée dans un récipient de plastique acrylique (diamètre de 12 mètres) qui est entourée d'eau ordinaire ultra-pure dans une immense cavité ayant un diamètre de 22 mètres et une hauteur de 34 mètres. À l'extérieur du récipient acrylique, on retrouve une sphère géodésique (diamètre de 17 mètres) munie de 9 600 détecteurs lumineux qui décèlent les petits jets de lumière produits par l'arrêt ou la dispersion de neutrinos dans l'eau lourde. Les lueurs sont enregistrées et étudiées afin de fournir des renseignements sur leur raison d'être, les neutrinos. Puisque la fréquence de détection n'est que de dix neutrinos par jour, il faut plusieurs journées pour obtenir les données qui permettront une analyse complète. Le laboratoire comprend aussi des installations électroniques et informatiques, une salle de commande et des systèmes de purification d'eau lourde et d'eau ordinaire.

Au coût de 73 000 000 $ (canadiens), la construction du laboratoire de l'ONS a duré de 1990 à 1998. Le projet a reçu l'appui financier du Conseil de recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, du Fonds du patrimoine du Nord-Ontario, de Industrie, Science et Technologie Canada, de Inco Limitée, du Department of Energie des États-Unis et du Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council au Royaume-Uni. L'eau lourde est la propriété d'Énergie atomique du Canada Ltée, une agence fédérale canadienne, en collaboration avec la Ontario Power Generation. L'appui et la collaboration d'Inco Ltée rend possible l'emplacement souterrain de l'ONS.

Les travaux d'évaluation au laboratoire ont débuté en 1999 et, après une période de calibrage et de tests et la configuration finale des paramètres d'opération, le détecteur opère presque continuellement depuis novembre de cette même année. En 2001 et 2002, on a entrepris des premières mesures en ajoutant du chlorure de sodium (sel) ultrapur à l’eau lourde ont démontré que deux tiers des neutrinos solaires se transforment (du type muon au tau avant d'arriver sur notre planète. Les mesures des trois types de neutrinos concordent parfaitement avec les calculs des réactions nucléaires qui alimentent le Soleil.. Ces nouvelles données offrent des renseignements indépendants et d’une plus grande précision sur les changements des neutrinos et la précision des modèles du Soleil.

De plus amples renseignements sont affichés sur le site Web de l'ONS à www.sno.phy.queensu.ca .

Établissements participants de l'ONS

Canada
Université Queen’s
Université Carleton
Université Laurentienne
Université Guelph
Université de British Columbia
Laboratoire TRIUMF
États-Unis
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Université de Pennsylvania
Université de Washington
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Université de Texas à Austin
Royaume-Uni
Université Oxford
Université de Sussez
Laboratoire Rutherford Appleton

Renseignements supplémentaires

Prof. Art McDonald
Université Queen’s en congé sabbatique
Directeur de Institut de l'ONS
Chair de recherche en physiques
Université Queen’s
Kingston, Ontario
Cellulaire: (613) 541-1405
Télécopieur: (613) 533-6813
mcdonald@sno.phy.queensu.ca
Prof. Tony Noble
Directeur de l’Institut de l’ONS
Institut de l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury
Université Queen’s
Kingston, Ontario
(613) 533-2679
Cellulaire: (705) 691-3692
Télécopieur: (613) 533-6813
potato@surf.sno.laurentian.ca
Prof. Doug Hallman
Directeur des communications à l'ONS
Sudbury Neutrino Observatory
Université Laurentienne
Sudbury, Ontario
(705) 675-1151, poste 2202
Télécopieur: (705) 675-4868
edh@nu.phys.laurentian.ca
Prof. Hamish Robertson,
Porte-parole des É-U et directeur intérimaire de l’ONS
Université Washington
Seattle, Washington, États-Unis
(206)616-2745
Télécopieur: (206) 616-2902
rghr@u.washington.edu
Prof. Eugene Beier
Co-porte-parole des É.-U.
Université Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, États-Unis
(215) 898-5960
Télécopieur: (215) 898-8512
geneb@hep.upenn.edu
Prof. Nick Jelley
Co-porte-parole du Royaume-Uni
Université Oxford
Oxford, Royaume-Uni
011 441 865 273380
Télécopieur: 011 441 865 273418
n.jelley1@physics.oxford.ac.uk
Prof. David Wark
Co-porte-parole du Royaume-Uni
RAL/Université de Sussex
Sussex, Royaume-Uni
011 44 1 235 445094
Télécopieur: 011 44 1 235 446733
d.wark1@physics.ox.ac.uk
Prof. David Sinclair
Director du projet SNOLAB
Université Carleton
Ottawa, Ont. Canada
613 520-7536
Télécopieur: 613 520-7546
Sinclair@physics.carleton.ca

Référence

Paul de la Riva
Relations publiques
Université Laurentienne
Sudbury, ON, Canada
(705) 675-1151, poste 3406
www.laurentian.ca
pdelariva@nickel.laurentian.ca
Nancy Dorrance
Relations publiques
Université Queen’s
Kingston, ON, Canada
(613) 533-2869
www.queensu.ca
dorrance@post.queensu.ca

For more information, see http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca

Back URL: sno/results_09_03/index_fr.html (Last revised Sep 7, 2003)
Mail problems/comments to qusno@sno.phy.queensu.ca

Salt Results

Read the Salt paper or download a PostScript or PDF copy

Also download a HOWTO document, describing how to include salt flux data in an oscillation analysis in PostScript or PDF format.

SNO Logo


September 7, 11:45 am Eastern Daylight Time

New Measurements Reported by the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory

En Français
SNO Logo

A common table commodity that people sprinkle on their food every day is the main ingredient in new measurements by scientists at the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO). In a presentation Sunday, September 7, 2003, at TAUP 2003, a major scientific conference in Seattle, Washington, new measurements are reported that strongly confirm the original SNO results announced in 2001 and 2002 that solved the "Solar Neutrino Problem" and go much further in establishing the properties of neutrinos that cause them to change from one type to another in transit to the Earth from the Sun. "We have moved to a precision phase of the measurements," says Queen's University Professor Art McDonald, SNO Project Director through the first two phases of the project. "These measurements are essential to define a new theory of elementary particles required to explain finite neutrino masses and their ability to change types. Some of the simplest proposed theories have already been ruled out."

To accomplish the new measurements, the SNO Collaboration added 2 tonnes of high-purity table salt (NaCl) to the 1,000 tonnes of heavy water at the heart of the detector, sited two kilometers underground in Inco's Creighton Mine near Sudbury, Canada. Two-thirds of the electron-type neutrinos produced by nuclear reactions in the core of the Sun are observed to change to muon- or tau-type neutrinos before reaching the Earth. "These new, solid results are obtained with a ‘pinch of salt,’ providing three times better sensitivity to the muon and tau neutrinos," says Tony Noble, Director of the SNO Institute that administers the project on behalf of an international collaboration of 130 scientists from 15 institutions in Canada, the U.S. and the U.K.

The observations in recent years that neutrinos change from one type to another, implying that they have mass, has led to great interest in the scientific community. These new findings require a modification of the most basic theories for elementary particles and have provided a strong confirmation that our theories of energy generation in the Sun are very accurate. New experiments to provide further information on neutrino properties and the origin of the Dark Matter in the Universe are being developed. These include projects that could be sited in the new SNOLAB being developed near the SNO underground site. Such measurements could provide insight into fundamental questions such as why our Universe is composed of matter rather than anti-matter. The answers to such questions require a further understanding of elementary particle theory and further insight into the evolution of the Universe.

To pursue such questions, the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory is about to enter a third experimental phase with new sensitivity. Says Professor Hamish Robertson of the University of Washington, Seattle, U.S. Co-spokesman and Interim SNO Director for this transition phase, "We have developed a half-kilometer-long array of ultra-clean detectors to be placed in the heavy water after the salt is removed in September. These detectors are precision instruments that will give us further insight into neutrino properties."

Nick Jelley of Oxford University, England, co-spokesman of the U.K. SNO Collaboration states, "As we have moved forward with ever increasing sensitivity, we are learning more about neutrinos and their place in the Universe. It is very exciting to be performing these ground-breaking measurements with our unique experimental sensitivity."

The new results from the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) have been submitted for publication and are posted at The web site for the TAUP 2003 conference is:

Background Information on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory

The Sudbury Neutrino Observatory is a unique neutrino telescope, the size of a ten-storey building, two kilometers underground in Inco's Creighton Mine near Sudbury, Ontario, planned, constructed and operated by a 100-member team of scientists from Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. Through its use of heavy water, the SNO detector provides new ways to detect neutrinos from the sun and other astrophysical objects and measure their properties.

For many years, the number of solar neutrinos measured by other underground detectors has been found to be smaller than expected from theories of energy generation in the sun. This had led scientists to infer that either the understanding of the Sun is incomplete, or that the neutrinos are changing from one type to another in transit from the core of the Sun.

The SNO detector has the capability to determine whether solar neutrinos are changing their type en-route to Earth, thus providing answers to questions about neutrino properties and solar energy generation.

The SNO detector consists of 1000 tonnes of ultra-pure heavy water enclosed in a 12-meter diameter acrylic plastic vessel, which in turn is surrounded by ultra-pure ordinary water in a giant 22-meter diameter by 34-meter high cavity. Outside the acrylic vessel is a 17-meter diameter geodesic sphere containing 9,456 light sensors or photomultiplier tubes, which detect tiny flashes of light emitted as neutrinos are stopped or scattered in the heavy water. The flashes are recorded and analyzed to extract information about the neutrinos causing them. At a detection rate on the order of 10 per day, many days of operation are required to provide sufficient data for a complete analysis. The laboratory includes electronics and computer facilities, a control room, and water purification systems for both heavy and regular water.

The construction of the SNO Laboratory began in 1990 and was completed in 1998 at a capital cost of $73M CDN with support from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, the National Research Council of Canada, the Northern Ontario Heritage Foundation, Industry, Science and Technology Canada, Inco Limited, the United States Department of Energy, and the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council of the U.K. The heavy water is on loan from Canada's federal agency AECL with the cooperation of Ontario Power Generation, and the unique underground location is provided through the cooperation and support of Inco Limited.

Measurements at the SNO Laboratory began in 1999, and the detector has been in almost continuous operation since November 1999 when, after a period of calibration and testing, its operating parameters were set in their final configuration. Measurements from the initial phase with pure heavy water were reported in 2001 and 2002 and showed clearly that about two-thirds of the electron type neutrinos created in the Sun changed their type to muon- or tau-type neutrinos in transit to the Earth. This transformation appears to arise from a finite mass for neutrinos, a finding beyond the current Standard Model of Elementary Particles. The measurements of all three neutrino types showed very good agreement with the expected numbers of neutrinos generated in the Sun, confirming current theories of energy generation in the Sun.

Further background information can be found on the SNO website:

SNO Participating Institutions

Queen's University
Carleton University
Laurentian University
University of Guelph
University of British Columbia
TRIUMF Laboratory
United States
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Los Alamos National Laboratory
University of Pennsylvania
University of Washington
Brookhaven National Laboratory
University of Texas, Austin
United Kingdom
Oxford University
University of Sussex
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

For further information

Prof. Art McDonald
SNO Director, on sabbatical
University Research Chair in Physics
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario
Cell: (613) 541-1405
FAX (613) 533-6813
Prof. Tony Noble
SNO Institute Director
Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Institute
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario
(613) 533-2679
Cell: (705) 691-3692
FAX (613) 533-6813
Prof. Doug Hallman
Director of Communications
Sudbury Neutrino Observatory
Laurentian University
Sudbury, Ontario
(705) 675-1151 Ext. 2202
FAX (705) 675-4868
Prof. Hamish Robertson,
US Co-spokesman, Interim SNO Director
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington, USA
FAX (206) 616-2902
Prof. Eugene Beier
U.S. Co-spokesman
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA
(215) 898-5960
FAX (215) 898-8512
Prof. Nick Jelley
UK Co-spokesman
Oxford University
Oxford, England, UK
011 441 865 273380
FAX: 011 441 865 273418
Prof. David Wark
U.K. Co-spokesman
RAL/University of Sussex
Sussex, UK
011 44 1 235 445094
FAX 011 44 1 235 446733
Prof. David Sinclair
Director of SNOLAB Development
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ont. Canada
613 520-7536
FAX: 613 520-7546


Paul de la Riva
Media relations officer
Public Affairs Department
Laurentian University
Sudbury, ON, Canada
(705) 673-6566
Nancy Dorrance
Public Affairs
Queen's University
Kingston, ON, Canada
(613) 533-2869
FAX (613) 533-6652

For more information, see

Back URL: sno/results_09_03/index.html (Last revised Sep 7, 2003)
Mail problems/comments to